Universitätssiegel
Project
Dissertationsprojekt
 
Staff
 

Research Project

Food-Praktiken

Food-practices and Spatial Constitutions of Convenience Stores in Impoverished US American Urban Neighborhoods

You are what you eat is a well-known phrase. Everyone eats, but everyone eats differently – different products, in various ways, differently prepared, and partly connected with customs. Food is seen as an expression of identity. These actions can be described as food-practices. However, which ascriptions to identity are hided in the practices if people seemingly consume mostly industrial processed food (convenient food) sold in convenience stores (also known as liquor stores or party stores): questions about which identity is attached to such habits have to be raised. Especially, poor urban neighborhoods in American metropolises are affected, where access to supermarkets is much worse than in the more prosperous districts. Here, an over-presence of convenience stores serving mainly snacks, convenience food, tobacco and liquor can be diagnosed. Consequently, convenience stores bear a high importance in the function as food contributor.

These aspects open up a twofold spatial dimension: on the one hand, it relates to the structural supply of food in these neighborhoods and, thus, emphasizes convenience stores as the dominant food provider. On the other hand, the meaning by people who choose such stores as a daily reference location include a practice of space constitutions: with doing so, they expand the function of food provider for further senses. In addition, the mentioned food system with a lack of supermarkets and the over-presence of convenience stores in African American neighborhoods tracts a high attention. This imbalance correlates not only with socio-economic indicators, but also with ethnicity. By considering intersectionality, it is possible to consider the dimensions of inequalities (in regard to race, class, and gender).

In this respect, the dissertation searches for the connection of food practices with practices of spatial constitutions of convenience stores. Space constitutions are understood as a process of the connection of actions by subjects; hence, it follows the praxeological theory. Practices are actions that are embedded a temporal and spatial context. They include historical and cultural dimensions, thus, the social itself, and they are framed by regulations and norms. The project is created in manner of an ethnographic research design. It includes beside the methods of intense observations in different stores in Detroit’s Eastside and Chicago’s Southside various forms of interviews as well as participation in and self-testing of food practices. Questions come to mind such as: What kind of product is bought at what time and in which settings (spatial and temporal) are these consumed? What practices do consumers associate with buying convenience food? To what extent are supermarkets in American underserved neighborhoods linked to these practices? Which other functions serve the convenience store to underserved neighborhood (e.g. meeting point for the Jetneys, an informal taxi system in Detroit; the store owner as credit grantor, lottery, and many more).

These questions go beyond the aspect of food-practices. They are also dedicated to the significance of convenience stores as social spaces in African American neighborhoods. With these questions in mind, theories about social inequalities in American inner-city neighborhoods in focus on African Americans are analyzed with a specific perspective on the everyday life of African Americans. Herewith, I add aspects to reflected and critical urban studies.

Editor: Webmaster Team
Latest Revision: 2017-08-25
zum Seitenanfang/up

Universitätssiegel
Projekt
Dissertationsprojekt
 
Mitarbeitende
 

Forschungsprojekt

Food-Praktiken

Food-practices and Spatial Constitutions of Convenience Stores in Impoverished US American Urban Neighborhoods

Du bist, was du isst sagt man sprichwörtlich. Jeder Mensch isst, doch jeder Mensch isst anders – andere Produkte, auf unterschiedliche Art und Weise, verschieden zubereitet, teilweise mit Bräuchen und Sitten verbunden. Essen gilt als ein Ausdruck der eigenen Identität. Diese Handlungen in Verbindungen mit Essen werden als food-Praktiken bezeichnet. Doch welche Identitätszuschreibungen verbergen sich dahinter, wenn Menschen sich vermeintlich ausschließlich von Fertigprodukten aus dem Convenience Store (vergleichbar mit Tankstellenshops, Spätis, Trinkhallen, Kioske, auch als Liquor Store oder Party Store bezeichnet) ernähren und zudem in einem Armutsquartier einer US-amerikanischen Großstadt wohnen, in denen der Zugang zu Supermärkten gravierend schlechter ist als in wohlhabenderen Stadtteilen? Grundsätzlich besteht in den USA ein Überangebot an Convenience Stores, die vornehmlich Snacks, Fertigprodukte, Tabakwaren und Alkohol anbieten und eine nicht unerhebliche Funktion als Lebensmittelversorger ganzer Stadtviertel besitzen.

In den food-Praktiken zeigt sich demnach eine räumliche Dimension, die zum einen auf der strukturellen Situation in diesen Nachbarschaften basiert und damit die Convenience Stores als wichtigste Lebensmittelversorger hervorhebt, zum anderen auf Raumkonstituierungen beruht, in denen deutlich wird, welchen Stellenwert Stadtbewohnerinnen und –bewohner als Kunden, Nachbarn oder Angestellte den Convenience Stores zuschreiben: sie nutzen diesen Ort als alltäglichen Referenzpunkt und erweitern damit den Aspekt der Lebensmittelversorgung um weitere Bedeutungen. Weiterhin muss die genannte Unterversorgung an Supermärkten bzw. die Überversorgung mit Convenience Stores insbesondere in Armutsquartieren mit einer vorwiegend Afro-Amerikanischer Bewohnerschaft berücksichtigt werden. Dieses Ungleichgewicht korreliert eben nicht nur mit sozio-ökonomischen Indikatoren, sondern auch mit ethnischer Zugehörigkeit. Mit Hilfe einer intersektionalen Perspektive können diese verschiedenen Dimensionen von Ungleichheit (race, class und gender) betrachtet werden.

Insofern sucht die Dissertation nach der Verknüpfung von Food-Praktiken im räumlichen Kontext mit der Praktik der Raumkonstituierung von Convenience Stores. Raumkonstituierungen werden als ein Prozess verstanden, der in Verbindung mit Handlungen zu Subjekten zu verstehen ist und damit praxelogischen Theorien folgt. Mit Praktiken sind Handlungen gemeint, die in einem zeitlichen und räumlichen Kontext ausgeführt werden. Sie sind in einem historischen und kulturellen Kontext, also in das Soziale, eingebettet, und von Regularien und Normen eingerahmt. Empirisch ist das Projekt in einem ethnographischen Forschungsdesign angelegt. Es beinhaltet neben intensiven, mehrwöchigen Beobachtungen von einzelnen Geschäften in ausgewählten Nachbarschaften der Detroit Eastside und der Chicago Southside verschiedene Formen von Interviews sowie die Teilnahme an und die Selbsterfahrung von Food-Praktiken der BewohnerInnen. Was wird zu welchem Zeitpunkt eingekauft und in welchem räumlichen, sozio-ökonomischen und zeitlichen Kontext wird das erworbene Produkt konsumiert? Welche Praktiken verbinden die KonsumentInnen mit dem Kauf der Fertigprodukte? Inwiefern stehen diese in Verbindung mit der Unterversorgung durch Supermärkte in amerikanischen Armutsquartieren? Welche weiteren sozialen Funktionen – z.B. als Sammelpunkt eines informellen Taxisystems, als Kreditgeber oder als Anbieter von Glücksspielen – erfüllt ein Convenience Store in unterversorgten Nachbarschaften?

Mit diesen Untersuchungsfragen wird versucht, Theorien über soziale Ungleichheiten in amerikanischen Armutsquartieren in Bezug auf Afro-AmerikanerInnen von einer besonderen, auf den Alltag der BewohnerInnen ausgerichteten Perspektive zu analysieren und somit um neue Aspekte einer kritischen Raumforschung zu erweitern.

Seitenbearbeiter: Webmaster-Team
Letzte Änderung: 25.08.2017
zum Seitenanfang/up